Through a combination of practical experience and written assignments, the BTEC Level 2 and 3 qualifications provide students with the knowledge, skills and understanding needed for a career in the Information Technology sector.

As with all BTECs, students complete a number of units which are listed below for each year group. For more information please visit the exam board pages.

Pearson BTEC Level 1/Level 2 First Award in Information and Creative Technology
(click to view exam board page)

Year 10 Units Assessment Type
Unit 1: Online World (mandatory) Online Test
Unit 2: Technology Systems (mandatory) Online Test
Unit 13: Website Development Assignment
Year 11 Units Assessment Type
Unit 3: A Digital Portfolio (mandatory) Assignment
Unit 6: Creating Digital Graphics Assignment
Unit 10: Database Development Assignment


Pearson BTEC Level 3 Nationals in Information Technology
(click to view exam board page)

Year 12 Units Assessment Type
Unit 1: Information Technology Systems (mandatory) Exam
Unit 2: Creating Systems to Manage Information (mandatory) Controlled Assessment
Unit 3: Using Social Media in Business (mandatory) Assignment
Unit 4: Programming (mandatory) Assignment
Year 13 Units Assessment Type
Unit 9: IT Project Management (mandatory) Assignment
Unit 11: Cyber Security and Incident Management (mandatory) Controlled Assessment
Unit 6: Website Development Assignment
Unit 12: IT Technical Support and Management Assignment